Students recognised

Abigail Thomas receives her award from Mark McAllion. (supplied)

A Western Athletics star was recognsied as Maribyrnong Sports College celebrated some of its best and brightest at its recent awards night to recognise the students achievements from 2021.

The event which was rescheduled due to COVID, recognised past and current students for their achievements and work rate.

“2021 was a challenging year with many competitions and selection opportunities in state and\ national teams limited or cancelled,” a spokesperson from the school said.

“Despite this, our student-athletes achieved outstanding personal and sporting success, so we enjoyed the opportunity to celebrate the year.”

“Highlights throughout the evening included a tribute to our Alumni Olympians who competed at the Olympic Games in Tokyo, Reba Stewart (taekwondo), Connor Metcalfe (soccer) and Gronya Somerville (badminton) and a surprise as MC: Tony Schibeci presented pre-recorded interviews with silver medallist Nathan Pellissier (para table-tennis) and bronze medallist Luke Plapp (cycling).

Athletics star Abigail Thomas won the top award, the Sport Director Award which is presented to a student athlete who has achieved excellent sporting results and academic performance throughout the year.

Thomas was on hand to receive her trophy as she prepares to travel to America to study at the

University of Idaho, later this year.

She recently won silver in the 3000 metres heptathlon at the Oceania Championships, representing Australia.

The Sunshine and Western Region Sports Club Citizenship Award was awarded to year nine football student Ermias Mersha for displaying MSA core values of respect, honesty, community, leadership and determination.

The ADF Long Tan teamwork and leadership awards were awarded to Montaya Sardi (netball) and Massimo D’Ambrosio (football). It’s been a big few weeks for D’Ambrosio who was picked up in the AFL mid-season draft by Essendon. He made his debut for the Bombers on Friday night.

Mitch Croft (volleyball), Sanaya Buddhadasa (table tennis), Danny Vonjikovich (judo) and Dylan Brooks (in line hockey) were inducted into the wall of fame, for making national teams last year.

Kane Finn, Jimmy Lackay, Holly Nagpal, Lucas Impey, Archit Bhatia and Olivia Manfre received the Back in Motion award for displaying leadership qualities and behaviours during MSA activities.

The Lynne Kosky Memorial Award was awarded to Lachlan Fazzolari (football). This award acknowledges Lachie’s courage, resilience, and perseverance throughout 2021.

Two athletes were recognised for each sport as well.

The winners were, Charlotte Baskaran and Lucca Grego (football), Josh Djatschenko and Lily-Bella Hilli (athletics), Shrey Dhand and Ohmkkar Neelam (badminton), Andy Land and Roman Coote (baseball), Lucas Impey and Sonny Maxwell (basketball), Mitchell Jamieson and Holly Nagpal (cricket), Louise Baliton and Jacob Ngo (golf), Sam Lowndes and Juliette Sheriff (hockey), Ryley Rametta and Danny Vojnikovich (judo), Kiralee Collings and Akira Mccormack (netball), Naomi Chinnama and James Grasset (soccer), Johann Stickland and Charlize Buna (swimming), Jamie Cefai and Lucas Sabljak (taekwondo), Bridget Mihulka and Lucas Dela Cruz (tennis), Mitch Croft and Brylee Lavery (volleyball), and Bree Kelly and Sanaya Buddhadasa (associate sports).