History made at Werribee FC

Matt Hanson on the field. (Supplied/Werribee Football Club).

This was one of Star Weekly’s best sport stories from 2021.

Here’s your chance to read it if you missed it the first time.

October 27

Matt Hanson has made history becoming the first Werribee player to win four Bruce Montgomery Trophy best and fairest awards.

Hanson’s triumph was announced via a virtual awards presentation on Thursday night after he polled 44 votes to claim Werribee’s top honour for 2021.

Hanson was tied alongside Travis Robertson, who has three Werribee best and fairest awards, but Hanson now stands alone at the top of the list for the club’s most prestigious honour.

This year’s best and fairest runner-up was Shaun Mannagh, who polled 36 votes in his first season with the club.

The forward-mid was two votes clear of third-place finisher Jack Henderson (34) with forward Hudson Garoni (32) and veteran ruckman Matt Lobbe (31) rounding out the top five.

Hanson’s previous Bruce Montogomery Trophy wins came in consecutive years, from 2015-2017.

Injury limited him to just five games in 2018 and 14 in 2019, but the 26 year-old was fully fit and back to his best in 2021 playing all nine matches during this year’s COVID-affected season.

He averaged a career-high 28.6 disposals per game, along with 4.6 marks and 5.1 tackles while leading the team in clearances (62) and inside 50s (54).

Hanson said it was a huge privilege to be awarded a fourth Bruce Montgomery Trophy.

“It’s a massive honour, this one might have a little asterisk beside it being only nine games but yeah it’s incredible to win this award again,” he said.

“I thought I was pretty consistent with my form, there’s obviously a lot of help going around in that midfield with some handy players there like (Tom) Gribble, Lobba (Lobbe) and Brewy (Dom Brew).“

“I’m very lucky to be at this club, it’s a very loyal club and I’m just thankful for all the support they’ve provided not only to me, but all the players and staff.”

For Hanson, adding to the excitement of another Bruce Montogomery Trophy win is a personal milestone as he and partner Kat are set to welcome their first child in the coming weeks.

After missing this year’s opening round clash against Collingwood, 2021 Bruce Montogomery Trophy runner-up Shaun Mannagh took little time to announce himself as a Werribee player.

After signing with the club for 2020 and waiting more than a year to pull on the Big W, Mannagh was the club’s best player in his round 2 debut gathering 25 disposals against Williamstown.

Over the remaining seven games of 2021, the 24 year-old collected 20 or more disposals on three occasions while kicking multiple goals in five outings to end the campaign with 15 majors.

Mannagh also received this year’s Trainers and Property awards voted on by the medical training staff and the club’s property volunteers respectively.

Several other players claimed multiple honours including Jack Henderson, who along with his best-ever finish (3rd) in a Werribee best and fairest count, collected the 2021 Coaches Award.

Midfield’s Dom Brew added another Most Courageous Player Award and was also voted the Players’ Player for this season.

Max Spencer, who will depart the club and return home to Queensland this offseason, was named the Best Defensive Player, with fellow defender Jesse Clark awarded Best First Year Player honours after an impressive debut season.

Rising forward Hudson Garoni was named the Most Improved Player after announcing himself as one of the competition’s most promising key position prospects.

Additionally, captain Michael Sodomaco received Werribee Life Membership after notching his 100th game for the club in early 2021.

Sodomaco who has been at the club since 2011 reached triple figures in round three with the team enjoying an 81-point victory over Richmond.

Club chaplin Andrew Seedhom was the recipient of the Ray Smith Club Person Award for his volunteer contributions to the team.