WDCA: Gorillas hit for six by Falcons

YOU better make that a six pack for Wyndhamvale in the Williamstown and District Cricket Association A1 turf.

The Falcons kept their slender one-point lead at the top of the ladder with a resounding 79-run win over old foes Grand United at Parsons Reserve on Saturday.

It is now six games without defeat for the hottest team in the league.

The in-form Falcons were confident of defending their total of 231 on the opening day.

Andrew Ford (75) and Lance MacDougall (46) were the cornerstones of the big score.

The Gorillas were not in the hunt, bowled out for 152. Falcons playing president Chris Plummer led from the front with 4-31 off 18 overs.

Jake Styles and Ryan Radford chimed in with two wickets apiece.

Joel Roze had a day out in the field with three catches and a run out.

The Falcons continue to get contributions from all and it has softened the blow of losing all-rounder Trent Lawford to district cricket.

Their final two regular season matches will be in the comfortable surroundings of Wyndhamvale Reserve. In the penultimate round, they will face a desperate Newport-Digman, who are knocking on the door of the top four.

In the C composite, Tarneit’s top side is precariously placed heading into the second-last game of the season.

The Titans lost a nailbiter by eight runs to Grand United to keep the door ajar for their fifth-placed conquerors to make a late push for the finals. Facing a 245 victory target, the Titans fell agonisingly short to be all out for 236, despite a stellar performance from opener Deepak Sharma, who made 86 not out in his second game of the summer.


A1 turf: Grand United 152 (C Plummer 4-31, RD Radford 2-25, J Styles 2-40) lt Wyndhamvale 231 (A Ford 75, L MacDougall 46, L Veal 26).

B1 turf: Bellbridge 112 lt West Newport 177 (A Wilks 4-40, S Nolan 3-20).

C composite: Western All Stars 166 (A Grioli 4-37, N Jayasinghe 4-42) lt Point Cook 175 (NB McKenna 91no). Tarneit 236 (D Sharma 86no, R Reddy 35, R Taneja 30) lt Grand United 244 (K Alfred 4-51, R Taneja 3-39, J Acharya 2-43).