Seven women in new council

Wyndham's new councillors, from left to right: Marcel Mahfoud, Susan McIntyre, Adele Hegedich, Mia Shaw (front), Sahana Ramesh, Heather Marcus, Jennie Barrera, Josh Gilligan, Jasmine Hill and Peter Maynar and Robert Szatkowski. Photo: Supplied/Wyndham council 220826_01

Wyndham’s 11 new councillors have been named, including seven women.

The Declaration of Polls was announced by the Victorian Electoral Commission this afternoon.

The number of new female councillors represents a record for the Wyndham municipality.

Sitting councillor Josh Gilligan has been returned in the Chaffey ward, along with Heather Marcus, Peter Maynard and Mia Shaw in the Iramoo ward.

In Chaffey ward, the other successful candidates are Jennie Barrera, Marcel Mahfoud and Robert Szatkowski.

Harrison Ward will have four female councillors – Susan McIntyre, Sahana Ramesh, Jasmine Hill and Adele Hegedich.

The council’s chief executive Kelly Grigsby congratulated the successful candidates.

“On behalf of Wyndham City, I would like to congratulate all the successful candidates and I look forward to working closely with you all over the next four years,” she said.

“For the first time in the history of this council, there will be seven female councillors.

“I would like to thank all 86 candidates who participated in the election in what it has to be said were very difficult circumstances.

“It’s great to see so many residents interested in local government.”

Ms Grigsby said the new councillors will be supported by council staff over the next four years, particularly during the next 12 months as Covid-19 restrictions ease.

“Now more than ever is the time for us to work collectively to build a strong economy and ensure we look after all our residents who need support,” she said.

The first meeting of the new council will be held on Monday, November 23, when the mayor and deputy mayor will be elected.